The city of Valtice, located near Austrian border, is famous for its beautiful castle and highly developed viniculture. The Castle of Valtice used to be an ostentatious domicile of Austrian as well as Moravian house of Lechtenstein. It was renowend not only for its beauty, but also for arts. Let´s name, for example, the castle theater, whose significance ot the time competed with the theatre stage of Vienna.
The Holy Virgin Ascension Church
A Renaissance Baroque work whose construction was ordered by the Prince Charles Eusebius Lichtenstein and realized in 1634 — 1671. The church is amazing by its size - 48 m long, 28 m wide, and 34 m high. The original Valtice church was replaced by a monumental work designed by the Italian architect Giovani Giacom Tencalla, working for the Lichtensteins. But the work was completed by Andrew Erna of Brno, after the vault had collapsed in 1641. The oriented single-nave structure with the dome-vaulted transparent has a rectangular terminated presbytery. At the Gospel side of the presbytery, there is a sacristy, the God Tomb Chapel on the opposite side. Oratories are above them.
The nave covered with two fields of the barrel vault. Altar painting with the Holy Virgin Ascension is a copy of the Rubens original, prepared by Gaetano fanti. Coming from the Rubens' shop, there is the painting in the altar superstructure, depicting the Trinity, as well as the paintings in the side altars with the Adoration of the Holy Three Kings and Jesus Christ Circumcision. The pulpit with the Lichtenstein emblem is obviously the work of the Italian F. Farneho. Noteworthy is the ceiling stucco in the church interior, authored by other of the Tencallo brothers. In the mirrors, a painting décor should have originally been carried out, but it was not because of the lacking funds. In the early 20. century only, both corner towers were fitted with a tent roof, made then Baroque in 1908. Two new bells were put onto the tower in 1992. They are to symbolize the reconciliation between the Czech citizens of Valtice and original German ethnic, expatriated to the neighboring Austria after the World War II. The church is consecrated to the Holy Virgin Ascension. On the front side of the church, there is the Latin inscription, which reads in translation:
The Valtice Castle was built not far away from a medieval castle, already mentioned at the end of 12th century. The castle belonged to the Seefeld family. When the demesne had later been acquired by the Lichtensteins, they built here a renaissance castle. The contemporary baroque building was commenced, at the end of 17th century by Charles Eusebius of Lichtensten, educated of this mighty aristocratic family, who had traveled a lot. Valtice became the main family seat, built up in involvement of the leading architects (F. Carrati, G. G. Tencallo, A. and K. Erno, D. Martinelli, A. J. Ospel). The final look was given to the castle by the Austrian architect J. B. Fischer of Erlach. Thus, one of the most noteworthy baroque entities in Moravia came to being.
In the first half of the 19th century, under the rule of John I of Lichtenstein, the extensive and unique landscaping of the wide Valtice neighborhood was carried out. A set of park works was set up in the area between Valtice and Lednice, where the Lichtensteins had their summer seat. The noteworthy family had owned the demesne until 1945, when the state expropriated it. In 1950, the castle was made accessible to the public, the reconstruction was commenced in the sixties. The current installation comes from these years.
The castle also includes an extensive park and a number of romantic buildings dating back to the first half of the 19th century, such as the colonnade called Reistna, the manor house of Belveder and the Temple of Diana (also known as Randezvous).
also called Reistna. Valtice architect Josef Popellach built it after the example of the Schőnbrunn Colonnade at the edge of a forest system to the south of the town, in the vicinity of the contemporary state border in 1810 — 1817, instructed to do so by John Joseph I of Lichtenstein. He wanted it as a memorial for his father (Fraz) and brothers (Philip and Alois). Their statues, along with the statue of the project initiator, are in the niches. The triumphal arch is dominating in the middle of the portico. Under the communist rule, when the colonnade was inside the closed border zone, it was inaccessible to visitors, used only by the border guards who had build their watchtower on its top. It was made widely accessible only after the changes in 1989. In now dominates to the highest peak of the entire area, offering a fabulous panoramic view (of Mikulov, Pálava, alluvial forests, Lednice, Lower Austria, White Carpathian Mountains in the Czecho-Slovak border region, and Lednice/Valtice Area).
Rendezvous (Temple of Diana)
Using the plans prepared by the Building Manager Joseph Hardmuth, the architect Joseph Kornhäusel built an Empire work called the Temple of Diana (more than frequently also referred to as Rendezvous) in 1810 — 1812. Simulating the Triumphal Arch in Rome, the monument in the midst of the old forest giants, was used by John I and his guests as the place of the hunters' breakfasts during the numerous hunting event, used to be held in an extensive hall across the entire floor of the building. The relief and figural decoration was carried out by the sculptor Joseph Klieber. The Goddess of Hunting, Diana, to whom the work is consecrated, is depicted in the middle of the central relief of the portal on the throne seated on a column. She wears her attribute - a crescent Moon - on her head, as she also used to be identified with the Goddess of Moon. The hunting scenes (deer- and boar-hunting) are on the southern entrance side, the topics from the antique legends (bathing nymphs stared by Kupidos) on the northern side. The front façade of the building is further decorated with four forward-seated massive columns with the Corinth capitals. The Latin inscriptions on the attic on both sides of the building give a cue of the hunting purposes:
Valtice and wine
Valtice and wine. These two terms have been Inseparable for hundreds of years. The prestigious wine exhibit called Wine Market of Valtice attracts visitors from the whole country. The cellars of Valtice castle host the Wine Salon of the Czech Republic, while other rooms include the National Center for Viniculture and also Moravín Union, the largest union of Czech and Moravian wine makers. The Secondary School of Viniculture and Viniculture Academy of Valtice these two instiutions prepare dozens and hundreds students and sommeliers each year for the wine business.