When, in the middle of the 13th century, the Liechtenstein family acquired their first land in Lednice, they suddenly owned as yet unused meadows and swamps, annually flooded by the Dyje river. By the time when, seven hundred years later, the Liechtensteins were leaving the estate, the swamps had been reclaimed and a singular complex of structures large and small had been erected between Lednice and the neighbouring Valtice, like gems fitted in a huge mosaic of rivers, canals and parks.
The rich constructional development of the present Romantic building began as early as the Middle Ages in connection with the noted House of Liechtenstein, which utilized Lednice for representation purposes since the 18th century. The manor had therefore altered its appearance according to the governing styles of architecture.
The present appearance of Lednice is a result of the Neo-Gothic reconstruction of 1846 - 1858, designed by Georg Wingelmüller. The ostentatious Baroque riding school edifices, designed by the architect Johann B. Fischer of Erlach have been preserved since the end of the 17th century. There is a glass house, built in 1843 - 1845, according to the project by P. H. Desvignes, leaning to the manor on the eastern side.
Not far from the Lednice manor, on the left bank of the Dyje river, a wonderful structure, called Janův Hrad, was founded after 1801. The project was drafted by the architect, Josef Hardmuth. The exterior of this structure, originally conceived as a hunting lodge, imitates a Medieval ruin, in accordance with the then touch for romance. The building plan consists of four corner tower like formations marking off a square space. The frontal wing interior, decorated with ornamental mural paintings, contrast sharply with the object's external appearance.
A perfect frame for the manor is the French garden and its vast provincial park, one of the largest in the Czech Republic. There are many noteworthy decorative constructions within it, for instance the Temple of the Three Graces, the Temple of Apollon and several other structures. There is a graceful minaret protruding from the rich park green within a sight of the manor. This minaret is a singular architectonic monument, constructed based on the design of Josef Hardmuth in 1797 - 1804.
The rooms open to the public in the manor's ground floor stand out, namely due to the carved decorations. All the rooms are magnificent, but most of all the library, with its splendid fusiform stairs and imposing entrance hall with beautiful ceilings and lower facings of Turquoise, Red, and Blue Shows.